40Gal Bucket List

A list of life's 'to-do's' before turning 50 … our journey of gettin' stuff done

Archive for the day “September 30, 2013”

The Evolution of Passion

13689efe5d9cd871256a441e645ac682

During my blogging hiatus I have thought a lot about the particular Bucket List Item of finding my passion and turning it into a career.  I know it is something many of us struggle with.  “What do I want to do with my life?” we asked ourselves.  I am asking that question at the ripe old age of 42.  Shouldn’t I know this already?  Shouldn’t I be content with my life’s path.  Well the honest truth is: no I am not.  Fudge I am not!

This hasn’t always been the case.  In college I knew I wanted to live in NYC and work in the apparel industry.  I was able to jump right in the apparel business, but it took me 8 years after I graduated to take the plunge (and risk) to move to NYC,  I did it and it was the best decision I have ever made.  I started my apparel career in retail and then finally entered the wholesale side of the ‘glamorous’  fashion industry in NYC.  The travel, the parties, the clothes were fun and I had a great time, but after 23 years, I have lost that passion for an industry I have loved and dreamed of since I was a young girl.  Granted, I still love clothes and enjoy a good purse that is way too expensive every now and again, but I’ve evolved.  That purse, those shoes, they don’t mean anything to me anymore.  So what has happened is I have grown out of my line of work.  An industry I have been in since college no longer gets me excited.  Lucky magazine comes and I can breeze right though it rather than study each and every page.  I’ve evolved and so has my passion.

What’s next?  Where do I go from here?  I know the passion for the apparel industry has fizzled out, but after thinking long and hard, I realized what brought me the most consistent joy in my work was not my passion in fashion, but my love of connecting with people while selling products that I believed in.  So maybe I have lost my passion for apparel, but not my passion for sales – a passion I never really defined before.

So with this new found realization, maybe I can continue in sales, but start selling new products or services that can bring me the same joy that selling has always brought to me?  Is there something out there that can satisfy this?

Post Navigation